If it has reached that point when you decide leave Facebook, there are a few steps that elaborate exactly how you can permanently delete your Facebook account. Ever since its inception, Facebook has transformed many lives and the way people interact socially. It has improved businesses by providing them a free advertising medium and even helped people meet their soul mates. With that said, due to one reason or another, at the end of it all, people are always wondering how do you permanently delete your Facebook account.
What you need to know is that it is quite easy to get rid of your Facebook account for good. You can be done with it in only a matter of a few minutes. Understand that deleting your account is totally different from account deactivation. When deactivating your account, you simply put some of your information on hold. Deleting on the other hand means that you permanently get rid of your data. To address the issue relating to how can you permanently delete your Facebook account, we have compiled these steps for you:
a) Backup your data
Before you can permanently delete your Facebook account, you need to back up your data for future references. You do not have to do this, but surely must desire to do. The information that you need to backup includes; contact information, any photos and any other information you consider dear to you. Anything you are likely to lose should be saved.
To do this, go to your Facebook Page, under Account Settings. Click on the Gear icon. Once accessed, you will see a link saying, ”Download a copy of your Facebook data.” To download your pictures, click on the download link at the bottom of the pictures once they are opened.
b) Clear all your history on Facebook
To do this, you need to access your Activity Log on Facebook and undo all of your previous activities on your account. This might include things such as all your previous liking posts and comments for that matter. This is done in an attempt to leave as little data as possible even as you attempt to delete your account.
The Activity Log option can be accessed by clicking the Privacy button that is found at the top right corner of your account. Click on ”Who can see my stuff?”. You’ll be able to access the Activity Log where you can choose the parts of your activities you’d want deleted.
c) Access the delete account page
You need to visit this page if you have intentions of permanently deleting your Facebook account. The page cannot be accessed merely through Facebook unless it’s searched for. Once the page is accessed, you can click on the ”Delete my Account” button to initiate the deletion process.
d) Enter the requested information
You’ll be required to enter your password and CAPTCHA information. Once this is done, press ”Okay”. The deletion process takes up to 14 days to complete.
We hope that helps you figure out how do you permanently delete your Facebook account.